Law

Academic Advising

Academic advising is a process expanding all three years, including course selection, career advising, and professional development opportunities.  Dean Rucker is available to advise students about meeting graduation requirements, helping to weigh curricular and co-curricular choices, and connecting students to faculty who will help to further students’ academic interests. She supports students by providing guidance on law school policy and helping to identify resources to make the most of students’ time at Cincinnati Law.  Transfer students and those considering joint degrees are particularly encouraged to meet with Dean Rucker at the start of their first year at the College to assess their required course load for graduation.  LL.M. students may also contact Dean Nora Burke Wagner for academic advising. 

Cincinnati Law offers Professional Pathways to help students identify courses and experiential opportunities offered at the College that will be useful to them as they prepare to enter specific practice areas.  The academic advisor(s) assigned to each Professional Pathway will help students develop their professional identity by assisting students in selecting a course of study and exploring various professional opportunities in law.  Students who are interested in focusing their studies in a particular area of law can consult faculty advisors in the various pathways. 

Students seeking additional support in their studies, beyond guidance about choosing courses or Professional Pathways, can take advantage of our Academic Success Program.

Academic Advisors

Who is my academic advisor?

Breakdown of academic advisor(s) based on Professional Pathway.
Professional Pathway Advisor
Business and Entrepreneurship Law

Felix B. Chang, Associate Professor of Law and Co-Director, Corporate Law Center

513.556.4555

felix.chang@uc.edu

Criminal Law

Janet Moore, Associate Professor of Law

513.556.0126

janet.moore@uc.edu

Environmental & Energy Law

Brad Mank, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, James B. Helmer, Jr. Professor of Law

513.556.0094

brad.mank@uc.edu

General and Small Practice Law Center for Professional Development
Health Law

S. Elizabeth (Betsy) Malloy, Andrew Katsanis Professor of Law

513.556.0115

betsy.malloy@uc.edu

Innovation, Technology, and Intellectual Property

Timothy K. Armstrong, Professor of Law

513.556.0171

timothy.armstrong@uc.edu

International Law

Jacob Katz Cogan, Judge Joseph P. Kinneary Professor of Law

513.556.0105

jacob.cogan@uc.edu

Litigation and Alternative Dispute Resolution

Marjorie Corman Aaron, Professor of Practice and Director, Center for Practice

513.556.0114

marjorie.aaron@uc.edu

Elizabeth Lenhart, Professor of Practice

513.556.0011

betsy.lenhart@uc.edu

Public Interest Law

Emily M.S. Houh, Gustavus Henry Wald Professor of the Law and Contracts and Co-Director, Center for Race, Gender, and Social Justice

513.556.0108

emily.houh@uc.edu