Alumni Celebration 2018

Alumni Celebration 2018

Saturday, October 27, 2018

University of Cincinnati College of Law

Please join University of Cincinnati College of Law to Converge. Connect. Celebrate.

UCNext Series 2018 will be filled with opportunities to reconnect, explore (through a TEDx style CLE series), converse over cocktails, dine and celebrate. Please join us at the corner of Clifton and Calhoun for a great time!

All Class Gather Session Pictures

Photos from 2017 UCNext Series.

We look forward to seeing you and your classmates in October!


Saturday, October 27, 2018 - College of Law

Connect with your former classmates for lunch before the start of the event.

2:30 pm – Registration

3:00 – 3:30 pm – Welcome Home - Interim Dean Verna Williams

3:30 – 4:30 pm – UC Next Series (1.0 CLE)

4:30 – 4:45 pm – Break

4:45 – 5:45 pm – UC Next Series (1.0 CLE)

6:00 – 6:45 pm – Cocktails and Conversations

7:00 – 8:00 pm – Red and Black Dinner and Celebration

                            Featured Speaker Darryl O. Ledbetter ('90) (0.5CLE)

The future may not be what you envisioned…the rules are changing.  Our UCNext Series will explore the trends shaping the world and why lawyers must adjust to a new reality.  Whether it’s Amazon, Uber, Blockchain, Artificial Intelligence, or the NFL…lawyers are expected to consult on the cusp of change.  Looking through different lenses, our speakers, in a TEDx style format, will share their experiences with “disruption” and its sister “innovation” as it relates to their career or practice area. 

UC has requested approval for 2.5 hours of general CLE.


Darryl O. Ledbetter, ‘90

Sports Writer - The Atlanta Journal Constitution

Atlanta, Georgia


Over the last 25 years, there hasn’t been much discussion on the sociological role of the African-American athlete. That changed after former San Francisco 49ers quarterback Colin Kaepernick helped to usher in a new era of social activism in professional sports when he started kneeling during exhibition games in 2016. Where have we been, what’s going on now and where are we headed as players are taking a knee to address social and racial injustice?

Phyllis Turner-Brim




Phyllis Turner-Brim, '93

Asst. General Counsel, Starbucks

Seattle, Washington

Johnathan Holifield




Jonathan Holifield, '96 (Invited)

Author and Director, Historically Black Colleges and Universities Project

Washington, DC

Adria Nobles Kimbrough




Adria Nobles Kimbrough, '00

Pre-Law Advisor, Dillard University’s Center for law and Public Interest

New Orleans, Louisiana

Scott Coye-Huhn




Scott Coye-Huhn, '04

Co-Founder, VP and Chief Legal Officer, Aloterra, LLC, a Next Generation Agribusiness

Houston, Texas

Whitney Gibson




Whitney Gibson, '04

Partner, Vorys Sater Seymour and Pease LLP

Cincinnati, Ohio

Un Kyong Ho




Un Kyong Ho, '10

Filmmaker, Writer, Impact Producer

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Rebecca Lawrence




Rebecca Lawrence, '13

Title IX Coordinator, Southern New Hampshire University

Hooksett, New Hampshire


All Class Gathering Cost
Registration Price Deadline
2013-2018 Grads $25.00 Deadline 10/12/18
Early Registration $50.00 Deadline 9/3/18
General Registration $75.00 Deadline 10/12/18

Sponsor a Current Student                    $25.00

Nearby Parking Garages

  • Stratford Heights Garage, 2630 Sratford Avenue
  • U Square Garage, 255 Calhoun Street
  • Verge Garage, 165 W. McMillan Street
  • Hughes High School, 2515 Clifton Avenue


Live parking garage availability.


Nearby Lodging Options

Fairfield  Inn & Suites (Marriott), University Area

2500 South Market Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45219 


Hyatt Regency Cincinnati, Downtown

151 West Fifth Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202


Kingsgate Marriott, University Area

151 Goodman Drive

Cincinnati, Ohio  45219



To view photos from last year's Alumni Celebration, click here.

Planning Committee Members
Name Class
Ann Marie Tracey 1975
Bruce Whitman 1980
Deborah Lydon 1981
Ginny Conlan Whitman 1981
Mina Jones Jefferson 1990
Robin Shabazz 1991
Paula Davis Lampley 1992
Beth Weinewuth 2004
Julie Gibson 2005
Patrick Hayes 2008
Brandon Craig 2009
Charlie Rittgers 2010
Mindy Roy 2011 (UC Undergraduate)
Leanthony D. Edwards 2016