Law

Academic Advising

Academic advising is a process expanding all three years, including course selection, career advising, and professional development opportunities. Dean Cogan is available to advise students about meeting graduation requirements, helping to weigh curricular and co-curricular choices, and connecting students to faculty who will help to further students’ academic interests. He supports students by providing guidance on law school policy and helping to identify resources to make the most of students’ time at Cincinnati Law. Transfer students and those considering joint degrees are particularly encouraged to meet with Dean Cogan at the start of their first year at the College to assess their required course load for graduation. LL.M. students may also contact Dean Nora Burke Wagner for academic advising. 

Cincinnati Law offers Professional Pathways to help students identify courses and experiential opportunities offered at the College that will be useful to them as they prepare to enter specific practice areas.  The academic advisor(s) assigned to each Professional Pathway will help students develop their professional identity by assisting students in selecting a course of study and exploring various professional opportunities in law.  Students who are interested in focusing their studies in a particular area of law can consult faculty advisors in the various pathways. 

Students seeking additional support in their studies, beyond guidance about choosing courses or Professional Pathways, can take advantage of our Academic Success Program.

Academic Advisors

Who is my academic advisor?

Breakdown of academic advisor(s) based on Professional Pathway.
Professional Pathway Advisor
Business and Entrepreneurship Law Felix B. Chang, Associate Dean, Professor of Law and Co-Director, Corporate Law Center
513.556.4555
felix.chang@uc.edu
Criminal Law Brian Howe, Professor of Clinical Law, Ohio Innocence Project, Rosenthal Institute for Justice
513.556.4276
brian.howe@uc.edu
Environmental & Energy Law Brad Mank, James B. Helmer, Jr. Professor of Law
513.556.0094
brad.mank@uc.edu
General and Small Practice Law Center for Professional Development
Health Law S. Elizabeth (Betsy) Malloy, Andrew Katsanis Professor of Law
513.556.0115
betsy.malloy@uc.edu
Innovation, Technology, and Intellectual Property Michael Whiteman, Associate Dean of Library Services & Director of the Law Library
513.556.0159
whitemme@ucmail.uc.edu 
International Law Jacob Katz Cogan, Associate Dean, Judge Joseph P. Kinneary Professor of Law
513.556.0105
jacob.cogan@uc.edu
Litigation and Alternative Dispute Resolution

Marjorie Corman Aaron, Professor of Practice and Director, Center for Practice
513.556.0114
marjorie.aaron@uc.edu

Elizabeth Lenhart, Professor of Practice
513.556.0011
betsy.lenhart@uc.edu

Public Interest Law Kristin Kalsem, Charles Hartsock Professor of Law
513.556.1220
kristin.kalsem@uc.edu